Hello There, Guest! Register

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
First time using tape - any advice?
07-28-2009, 04:56 PM,
First time using tape - any advice?
Its my first time using tape. I bought some blue liner tape from the local hair piece salon just to try it out.

Any advice on applying tape and removing it? How long should I leave it on before it becomes terrible to clean?

I applied it quite easily.

What other tapes do you recommend?
07-29-2009, 12:41 AM,
Re: First time using tape - any advice?
My experience i used supertape and it made my scalp itch. Though many people think its awesome.

I don't get any problem from Walker No shine and i easily get a weeks hold from it though i don't like wearing any longer than that because of hygiene.

I've read that blue liner is really strong but it breaks down like a glue and becomes difficult to clean off. Other tapes don't have this effect and actually become easier to clean off after a longer period of time.

From what everyone on the forum has said ST-30 is like the holy grail of all tapes so you may want to try that out. Though i havent used it yet infortunately but i can't wait to one day when mines run out.
07-29-2009, 01:45 AM,
Blue liner is a very strong tape, but it does breakdown and get gooey . For me, the most I can go with blue liner is about 4 days. After 4 days, the cleanup is a nightmare and can really put a strain on a SFS base. I have had much better success with ST-30 (the best) and Walker No Shine. Once ST30 is back in stock, try it out, it's great. In the meantime, I have been using Walker No Shine and it is a great tape as well. I can get 7-10 days of good hold with Walker no problem. I remove with 91% alcohol and then clean up my scalp with Pure. I then us a magazine slide to clean up the base. I use Base Bond in the front, so I'm not sure now you will like Walker for the front hairline. I seem to remember that you have a high densitiy, so it should not be a problem.