Hello There, Guest! Register

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
cutting in by oneself
01-13-2013, 05:34 AM,
cutting in by oneself
Hello,

I am planning to cut in the new piece myself. I have no good experiences with hairstylists and think that for the kind of hairstyle I prefer I could easily do it myself. I would do it with this flowbee thing (http://www.flowbee.com/) and start with a longer haircut so that I dont lose the piece in case i mess it up. You have any handy tips for doing the cutting oneself?

Thank you,
Alkibiades
01-13-2013, 03:39 PM,
RE: cutting in by oneself
I've been cutting in my own systems for close to 10 years. It's a little intimidating at first starting off with a long mop of hair but as you gain experience it's becomes pretty easy. I scissor cut my system while it's on my head because I've been doing it that way from the very beginning. Scissor cutting gives a nice layered look. Seeing layers makes the hair look natural. It's best to go little by little gradually cutting the hair down to the desired length so you don't make a mistake.

In other words don't go for a precision cut right off the bat take your time. Once you get the hair cut down to a manageable length it starts taking shape. One technique to shorten the overall length is to wet the hair and pin it up on top then bring down a thin layer all around the head and cut it to the desired length. You then bring down another layer and the first layer you've cut gives you a guideline on where to cut the second layer. You continue bringing down layers until you've shortened up the overall length. Then you're off and running.