Hello There, Guest! Register

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Got my 1st Lace Unit.....now what? Help please!
12-15-2012, 06:47 AM,
Got my 1st Lace Unit.....now what? Help please!
So I received my first Swiss Lace unit in the mail yesterday.

Being a newbie, I would like to put it out to experienced wearers to answer:

Now what?

What steps need I take before wearing?

Wash the Unit?

Knot sealer?

I'm ready to start but want to get it right. I very much respect the members of this forum and your vast knowledge....so please help a Newbie!

Thank you sooooo much in advance!
12-15-2012, 12:23 PM,
RE: Got my 1st Lace Unit.....now what? Help please!
Hi John,
Your first step is to cut off the excess lace. All units come with extra lace that the customer trims off. Some people like to cut right up to the hair line. Others like to leave a row or two lace (it disappears when attached). And you also need to shampoo the unit. It looks curly at first and shampooing it will allow it to 'relax' and loosen up. Knot sealer is not required--it's a personal choice. Most hair wearers don't use knot sealer. Although it does help control shedding somewhat the downside is that the knot sealer is acrylic and makes the base a little stiffer. Also, the knots need to 'turn' in the direction of the hair styling so if you do decide to seal the knots it's a good idea to do it after the unit has been shampooed a few times and has 'settled in' to the way you style your hair.
Regards,
John
12-15-2012, 12:32 PM,
Well, I'm not as experienced as others are on this forum, but the first thing I do when I get a new unit is this:

1. Cut all the excess lace. I cut it all the down to 1/16 of an inch from the hair.

2. Wash the unit. Preferably using a shampoo that is sulfate free. There are various options out there that many here have recommended.

3. Shave and/or prep your coverage area. Make sure your head is clean. This ensures a better attachment.