Hello There, Guest! Register

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Keeping tape or glue on scalp when removing.
10-14-2012, 04:19 AM,
Keeping tape or glue on scalp when removing.
What techniques do you use to keep the glue and or tape on the scalp when removing the unit as opposed to on the unit itself? I'd imagine keeping the tape or glue on the scalp would make cleanup much easier. I've been wearing for two years and I don't think I've ever been able to do this. Any tips?
10-14-2012, 09:46 AM,
RE: Keeping tape or glue on scalp when removing.
I just spray 91% alk on the hair where the tape is and on the hairline which I glue, wait a couple of minutes and gently peel from the hairline back. Tape stays on my scalp, and very minimal glue on the lace. Quick magazine slide sorts the glue. I imagine nothing different then anyone else. What kind of glue and tape are you using? I use stick it tape and white glue. Release and clean up is a snap.
10-16-2012, 11:20 AM,
winstonage,

I read your reply and the part that stood out to me was when you said you spray alcohol "on the hair where the tape is".

I thought about it some more and I think I just realized what I've been doing wrong for the last two years. I always wear the unit until there's lifting. What I've always done to remove the unit is pull up the lace that's lifting and spray lace release underneath, between my scalp and the unit. But what I should be doing is spraying down into the top of the unit, through the hair and toward my scalp onto the lace. This way, it will create separation between the lace and the tape. If I lift and spray underneath like I was doing before, I'm just creating separation between the tape and my scalp, leaving the tape attached to the lace.

Does that make any sense?
10-16-2012, 01:03 PM,