Hello There, Guest! Register

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Newbie needs help
12-06-2008, 08:29 PM,
Newbie needs help
Hello all,

As the title so subtly suggests (not really), I am a newbie who needs a bit of help with hair replacement. But I'll provide a bit of background information first.

I have a diffuse sort of thinning going on. It's more severe in certain areas of my head (mostly the frontal area, the top area, and to a noticable extent, the crown). My hair is jet black and my skin it kind of light (though the top of my head is a bit tanned... Sad ), so the thinning is very noticable. I'm not really bald in a particular area either, but I can imagine reaching that point in a couple of years.

I'm looking into hair systems as a solution, and toplace has good credentials. However, I'm not really sure what to order for my particular needs. I definitely do not have the head shape to pull off shaving, and I can still pull off looking like I've got hair with a hat on, so I don't want to shave my head and totally depend on the system to get by in everyday life.

I went to a local hair replacement expert to ask for her opinion, and she said that since I don't want to shave, I could go with clips. Also, since I still have a hairline (though thinning in the front), she said that she wanted to use my hairline hair along with the system. I'm not really sure how that would work, since to my knowledge, if it's not clipped on, the system is glued/taped to secure the piece onto the head (especially the frontal area). And if that were the case, I don't know how she would plan on using my real hairline hair to make the overall appearance look good.