Hello There, Guest! Register

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Scalp irritation
12-23-2008, 05:29 AM,
Scalp irritation
I searched the entire forum and either missed it, or there is not a topic regarding scalp irritation issues.

I have been wearing full poly systems for about 10 years. I use I-glue to attach to my scalp. Over the years, I find that I randomly have problems come up with my scalp becoming very irritated. It will start as one small area almost always on the side perimeter. When I take off the piece, there will be a wet area sometimes with some pussy-like substance and the skin is bright red and sensitive. The area that is irritated takes a long time to fully heal up. Even when it seems healed, it will come back within a few days of putting my piece back on even if I completely avoid sweating for 24 hours after putting it back on. The irritated area will get bigger and bigger without a very long complete healing time allowed. Sometimes I have to wait 2 weeks or more without a piece to fully allow scalp healing. I tried neosporin to speed it up, but that does not help much. It gets worse sometimes, then it may not show up for months. Sweating does not seem to be the main issue since it happens in the winter just as easily.

I am out of ideas as to how to deal with this since I can't wear a piece or put any glue on my head until it is healed. I thought about trying a lace piece with just perimeter glue or tape to allow breathing, but the perimeter is the place where I have the problem so that won't work. I noticed the I-glue smells completely different than it used to but I had this problem with the old and new I-glue so I don't believe that is an issue either. I have also tried the scalp protector and it does not seem to help either. I put it on one side of my head, It helps adhesion last longer, but Both sides were the same as far as irritation.