Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Stress Test results: Walker No Shine Tape - Pics Added
04-23-2009, 03:10 AM,
Stress Test results: Walker No Shine Tape - Pics Added
Unit: All lace system, stock, sent back for a density drop to mid 50%'s range
Attached: Walker No Shine contours cut to fit, full perimeter
Product: Paul Mitchell Wax Works
Conditions: Salt water, very high winds, HEAT! (Mexico/Honduras/Belize/Grand Cayman)
Duration: 13 days, zero lift at front hairline

Pictures to follow

I'm still a newbie, in my 2nd month of wearing. This was my 2nd solo full tape perimeter attachment - the first was with the piece as cut by the stylist. Tis one, was cut by me to the template. HUGE DIFFERENCE! The smaller piece sat true on my former hairline/scalp @ 4 fingers. This meant no forehead skin oils, no forehead skin flexing with facial expressions, and a better adhesion surface.
I snorkeled the Barrie Reef, I dove & swam with stingrays, I sat topside on boats doing 20+ knots in 25 MPH winds and I didn't sit in the shade once. This attachment did not budge and, more importantly, did not look like anything but my own hairline in the wind.

I did pull/stretch my piece while attaching & then went over it with repeated/forceful press downs with a wide tooth comb I modified (cut it down to 3 inches for more control).
The tape does shine, but so does your scalp with Wax Works, so it looks completely natural + you're in the Topics anyway & scalps do glisten.
Even though I brought my shampoo, I did not attempt it, just regular rinse outs. Didn't know if it would hasten breakdown/detachment. Consequently, I can't say if the slight seep thru I had on day 13 before detaching was due to not shampooing and/or Wax Works accumulation. Plus, the hairline was getting dirty.
I do need to learn about "sealing the glue/tape" - I think that would have solved the dirt/seep issue.
Overall, I would highly recommend the tape for strenuous activity/waters ports.
06-13-2009, 01:39 AM,