Hello There, Guest! Register

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
ThinSkin and Sweating/Long-term wear.
05-21-2009, 04:01 AM,
ThinSkin and Sweating/Long-term wear.
Hi there everyone.

I'm a musician. I'm on tour for a month or more at a time, and there's often very little room for me to do daily/weekly maintenance (ie. taking a piece off and washing it and the scalp). For that reason, I had decided to do a thinskin base, something I could do a more long term 3-4 week hold with.

I know there are naysayers that say you can't do this without scalp odor/health issues. But there are firms like Virtual Reality, Transitions, and others, that seem to have great success with this long-term bond method. I've even met a few people that say it's really no big deal, and that the concerns about odor and sweat are overblown.

That said, I have read it the other way too. And before I go into this whole world of things, I need to know if a guy like me can manage. It's a catch 22, because a stage performer needs to look *great*, all the time, and my hair is thinning out in a nasty way. But with that said, I'm also on a stage 15 times or more a month, and each time, I sweat like mad. I'm concerned that the sweat will cause problems over the course of a 3-4 week bond.

What I really want to hear is from people that have chosen this route: thinskin, with a 3-4 week bond (ie. not taking it off at all, and going in for monthly cut-ins and scalp treatments). It's really the only method that would work for me considering my on-the-road schedule.

Has anyone made this work? How much do you sweat/exercise?

Thanks.
05-21-2009, 06:22 AM,
Re: ThinSkin and Sweating/Long-term wear.
As an add on, I just spoke with another singer who also wears a Virtual Reality piece (which is a really really thin thinskin), and keeps it on for 3 weeks, and has never had a problem with odor or health issues, or loosening.

Anyone have any comments on this?
05-22-2009, 05:31 AM,