Hello There, Guest! Register

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Newbie Here (concerns on local salon)
10-05-2016, 02:19 AM,
Newbie Here (concerns on local salon)
Hi there!

So I use to frequent this thread all the time a couple years ago. Luckily, I started some meds and my hair has grown back quite well and I haven't had to worry about it for some time. The only downside is that I have only been able to style my hair basically one way for the last 5 years and I'm pretty much over that. On top of the fact that I dont like being on propecia due to certain side effects that could happen. I know that the meds are only a temporary solution to a permanent problem.

The only reason I havent taken the leap to systems is

1)I'm scared (duh)
2) $$$
3) All of it seems super intimidating by myself.
4) I have curly hair, which I hear can make wearing a little bit more difficult (true?)

Anyways, I found a local salon, I live in Rochester, NY. I'm getting a free consultation from them on Thursday. I'm excited and scared. I've heard some horror stories about salons in general and was wondering if anyone had any first timer advice about salons. I want to eventually move on to doing this by myself, I just feel that it would be the wise decision to go somewhere first to get some sort of guidance to it.

So please if you have any advice about any of this! Please let me know!
10-06-2016, 02:12 AM,
RE: Newbie Here (concerns on local salon)
With curly hair you have one more spec to get right, namely the degree of curl. But once you do get it right I think having curly hair makes wearing easier. The curl hides any little imperfections in the blend or the hairline.